You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.


21 State Attorneys General Urge Confirmation of William Barr

BATON ROUGE, LA – As the United States Senate begins the confirmation process of William Barr, Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry is joining 20 of his fellow state attorneys general in supporting Mr. Barr.

In a letter to the Senate Judiciary Committee today, General Landry and his colleagues outlined Mr. Barr’s extensive qualifications and urged a swift confirmation hearing and vote.

“Mr. Barr has a broad base of experience in public service and the private sector,” wrote the coalition. “His work has honed the skillsets necessary to tackle effectively the array of issues under the purview of the U.S. Department of Justice.”

General Landry and his fellow state attorneys general often work with the USDOJ – especially in matters related to Internet crimes against children, Medicaid fraud, and consumer protection.

“As state Attorneys General, upholding the rule of law and protecting public safety in our communities requires regular collaboration with the U.S. Department of Justice and Office of the Attorney General,” continued the coalition. “Mr. Barr has shown extraordinary interest in working with state legal and law enforcement agencies to combat violent crime and other threats to Americans. His actions show he views us as partners in public safety, knowing that we are more effective when we work together.”

The letter in support of Barr was signed by Attorneys General Jeff Landry (Louisiana), Tim Fox (Montana), Steve Marshall (Alabama), Kevin Clarkson (Alaska), Leslie Rutledge (Arkansas), Ashley Moody (Florida), Chris Carr (Georgia), Lawrence Wasden (Idaho), Curtis Hill (Indiana), Derek Schmidt (Kansas), Eric Schmitt (Missouri), Doug Peterson (Nebraska), Wayne Stenehjem (North Dakota), Dave Yost (Ohio), Mike Hunter (Oklahoma), Alan Wilson (South Carolina), Jason Ravnsborg (South Dakota), Herbert Slatery (Tennessee), Ken Paxton (Texas), Sean Reyes (Utah) and Patrick Morrisey (West Virginia).