You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.


Attorney General Jeff Landry Leads National, Bipartisan Push to Empower State Antitrust Enforcers

52 Attorneys General Urge Congress to Pass the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act of 2021

BATON ROUGE, LA – Louisiana Attorney General Jeff Landry is leading a bipartisan coalition of 52 attorneys general in support of federal legislation that would help citizens benefit from more efficient, effective, and timely adjudication of antitrust actions.

Attorney General Landry and his colleagues are urging the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives to pass the State Antitrust Enforcement Venue Act of 2021 (H.R. 3460, S.1787) – a bill which would ensure attorneys general are able to remain in the court they select rather than having their cases moved to a court the defendant prefers.

"One of the greatest threats to America is Big Tech's manipulation and data mining of citizens' information," explained Attorney General Landry. "We are simply asking Congress to give us the tools necessary to protect consumers."

"Federal enforcers are entitled to select and remain in their preferred venue and pursue relief without undue delay and distractions caused by the particularized interests of private plaintiffs," continued Attorney General Landry. "State antitrust enforcement actions should be extended the same protections from transfer as those brought on behalf of the United States."

"Senators Lee and Klobuchar have presented a bill that would strengthen federalism and help competition, both of which is good for consumers," concluded Attorney General Landry. "I hope Congress will swiftly pass this measure and get it to the President's desk for signature."


Joining Louisiana Attorney General Landry in a bipartisan letter to Congressional leadership are the attorneys general from Colorado, Connecticut, Texas, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.